Time for a bit of an update…

So now that the semester is finally winding down, my final projects in many of my classes have been completed. So what did I spend yesterday doing?

GAMING MARATHON!!!

I invited my boyfriend over and we had an epic Super-Smash-Bros.-Brawl-fest. So over the hours that I’ve been contributing to this game, I had a few thoughts about my learning development.

Have I improved dramatically? No.

Have I improved at all? Yes.

When I first began playing, I was able to beat classic mode (which I have explained in previous posts) on my better characters (Mr. Game and Watch and Toon Link) on easy mode with 5 lives. With any other characters, not quite.

During this afternoon of playing, I realized that I have progressed to being able to win on hard mode with my favorites. Usually. Occasionally I run out of lives and have to use a continue, which reduces your coins earned in the game.

Failure.

There were, however, many characters I tried exploring. Some that I have added to my favorites are Zelda/Sheik, Pit, and Pikachu. I like using Snake for sheer entertainment value. I still find him horribly difficult to use. With these new favorites, I have been able to beat normal mode. That is a noticeable improvement, but not as much as I was hoping to see. Using Snake, I can maybe beat easy mode, but he is such a fun character to use, I play as him anyway.

I found that generally, I have improved by two difficulty levels on classic mode. If I play in brawl mode, which is either timed or the characters are given a limit of lives, I am fairly evenly matched with a level 7 AI, depending on the characters being used or if I am playing a special brawl. In a special brawl, extra handicaps can be added to the characters. These include shrinking, becoming metal and thus heavier and harder hitting, bunny ears for speed and higher jumps, or permanent sudden death, when the characters begin with 300% damage. When I started this project, I could only defeat a level 4 AI, which is so easy to me now that I cannot imagine being that bad at this game.

Perhaps I have been improving slowly, but as I have explored in my last post, there are multiple ways to learn from gaming. Sometimes I feel as if I have faster reflexes or better concentration, but that may just be me searching for improvement.

Picture Bibliogrpahy:

– (3 March, 2008) “Secrets for Continuing” Smash Bros. DOJO!!

http://www.smashbros.com/en_us/gamemode/various/various29.html

(30 November, 2011)

– (2011) “Super Smash Bros. Brawl” Dedica

http://dedica.la/artist/super+smash+bros+brawl

(30 November, 2011)

Leave a comment